Rebinding done by Spiralverse

The Kid Coach Spiral-Bound | August 4, 2009

Fred Bowen

$14.88 - Free Shipping
Scott and his teammates can't find an adult to coach their team, so they must find a leader among themselves.

Looking for baseball action? Check out this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen—perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Baseball season is under way, and Coach Skelly just quit! Worst of all, Scott and his teammates can't find anyone else to coach the team. It looks as if the Tigers' season might be over before it really begins.

But then the Tigers have a big idea: what if one of them becomes the coach? After all, some of the biggest names in baseball history were player-coaches. Why not a kid coach?

Author Fred Bowen shares a story of leadership, teamwork, and hidden talents as these young players take control of their own team. Readers can learn more stories of real-life MLB player-managers in the afterword.
Publisher: Holiday House / Pixel Ink / Peachtree
Original Binding: Trade Paperback
Pages: 105 pages
ISBN-10: 1561455067
Item Weight: 0.3 lbs
Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.4 x 7.5 inches
Fred Bowen was a Little Leaguer who loved to read and is still a lifelong sports fanatic. He is the author of the action-packed Fred Bowen Sports Story series, currently totaling more than twenty titles. For thirteen years, Bowen coached kids' baseball and basketball teams. He has also written a weekly sports column for kids in the Washington Post since 2000. He was a lawyer for many years before retiring to become a full-time children's book author.Bowen lives in Silver Spring, Maryland, with his wife Peggy Jackson. They have two grown children.