Rebinding done by Spiralverse

A Lullaby for Witches Spiral-Bound | February 1, 2022

Hester Fox

★★★☆☆+ from 1,001 to 10,000 ratings

$20.58 - Free Shipping

From the author of The Witch of Willow Hall comes a deeply atmospheric new novel about a young museum worker, Augusta, who stumbles across a mysterious woman written out of the historical record. When this woman begins to call to Augusta across the centuries in strange and impossible ways--and may have dark intentions--Augusta must solve the mystery of the woman's identity, and her fate, before it's too late. Perfect for fans of THE ONCE AND FUTURE WITCHES and THE CLOCKMAKER'S DAUGHTER.

Two women. A history of witchcraft. And a deep-rooted female power that sings across the centuries.

Once there was a young woman from a well-to-do New England family who never quite fit with the drawing rooms and parlors of her kin.

Called instead to the tangled woods and wild cliffs surrounding her family’s estate, Margaret Harlowe grew both stranger and more beautiful as she cultivated her uncanny power. Soon, whispers of “witch” dogged her footsteps, and Margaret’s power began to wind itself with the tendrils of something darker.

One hundred and fifty years later, Augusta Podos takes a dream job at Harlowe House, the historic home of a wealthy New England family that has been turned into a small museum in Tynemouth, Massachusetts. When Augusta stumbles across an oblique reference to a daughter of the Harlowes who has nearly been expunged from the historical record, the mystery is too intriguing to ignore.

But as she digs deeper, something sinister unfurls from its sleep, a dark power that binds one woman to the other across lines of blood and time. If Augusta can’t resist its allure, everything she knows and loves—including her very life—could be lost forever.

Don't miss Hester Fox's next novel, The Last Heir to Blackwood Library...where a young woman inherits a mysterious library and must uncover its secrets!

Look for these other gothic mysteries from Hester Fox: 

  • The Witch of Willow Hall
  • The Widow of Pale Harbor
  • The Orphan of Cemetary Hill

Publisher: HarperCollins
Original Binding: Trade Paperback
Pages: 320 pages
ISBN-10: 1525804693
Item Weight: 0.7 lbs
Dimensions: 6.0 x 0.9 x 8.9 inches
Customer Reviews: 3 out of 5 stars 1,001 to 10,000 ratings
 "Weaves a spell of darkness that’s mysterious and magical, and binds it with a knot of deathless love."--New York Times bestselling author Susanna Kearsley 


"With expert pacing, Hester Fox peels back the layers of a mystery involving modern-day museum curator Augusta Podos and 19th century doomed witch Margaret Harlowe in this exquisite page-turner.  An atmospheric and heartbreaking tale of loss, dark magic and the power of love, this brilliant book will stay with you long after the last page."--Constance Sayers, author of The Ladies of the Secret Circus


"A spine-tingling blend of paranormal and historical fiction that feels gothic, gloomy, and perfect for winter."--BuzzFeed Books

"With unexpected twists aplenty, this is sure to keep fans of paranormal fantasies turning the pages. It’s a multilayered, haunting tale."--Publishers Weekly

“Fox deftly navigates the overlapping borders of romance and the paranormal.”--Kirkus

"Engrossing."--LibraryJournal

"A haunting story full of long-buried secrets...Fans of Louisa Morgan and Susanna Kearsley will want to pick this up."--ShelfAwareness

"Both timelines are compelling and readers will enjoy this blend of paranormal, gothic horror, romance, and historical fiction."--Booklist
Hester Fox is a full-time writer and mother, with a background in museum work and historical archaeology. She lives in New England with her husband and their two children.